To simplify folder and file sharing for users with limited security knowledge, Windows now uses Simple File Sharing. Simple File Sharing uses the predetermined security settings for each user group to specific directories and settings.
 
For example: A Power User does not have write authority to the root of the C: drive.
 
To change the security for individual users or groups to specific files or folders, you need to disable Simple File Sharing. When you disable Simple File Sharing, a Security tab displays when you right-click a folder or file and choose Properties. You can then use this tab to change the security to the file or folder.
 
To disable Simple File Sharing:
  1. Open any directory on the PC.
  2. Go to Tools > Folder Options.
  3. Choose the View tab and scroll to the bottom of the list.
  4. Uncheck Use simple file sharing (Recommended).

Still have questions? We can help. Submit a case to Technical Support.

Last Modified On: December 10, 2016