Introduction

The Robot Product Maintenance Wizard 2 is installed on your PC and allows you to move downloaded product files from your PC to the IBM i.

Notes:

  • You only need to install the wizard once. After it's installed on your PC, you can use it with all future product downloads.

  • You may already have the Robot Product Maintenance Wizard 1 installed on your PC. After you've installed and successfully used the Robot Product Maintenance Wizard 2, you can uninstall version 1.

  • While you can still use version 1 of the wizard, we recommend that you use version 2. Also, you must use version 2 if you're going to use a save file library other than the default of HSSAVF, or if you're installing into an independent ASP (IASP) environment (for products that support IASPs).

Using the Robot Product Maintenance Wizard 2

The Robot Product Maintenance Wizard 2 signs on to your system with the user profile you provide and transfers the save files needed for the product.

  1. To download the wizard software to your PC, click Robot Product Maintenance Wizard on the product download page. Double-click the wizard setup program (setupprodmaint.exe) on your PC and follow the setup instructions.

    Note: If version 2 of the wizard is already installed on your PC, you don't need to install it again. However, if you only have version 1 installed, you may want to install version 2 (see the Notes in the “Introduction” above).

  2. Download the IBM i files for your product. The downloaded product files have an extension of .hs when you view them on your PC.

  3. Double-click the product file to start the Robot Product Maintenance Wizard. Then, follow the instructions that display.

  4. When you're prompted for a destination system, specify the system (or its IP address) where you want to install the product. Then, click Next.

  5. When the Choose Login Information window displays, enter a valid user profile name and password for the specified system. Use a profile that is a member of the user class *SECOFR and has at least the following special authorities: *ALLOBJ, *SECADM, *JOBCTL, and *IOSYSCFG. The user profile should have Limit Capabilities set to *NO. Then, click Next.

  6. When the Processing Options window displays, you have several options:

    • If this is the only installation you're doing at this time, and you want to use the automatic processing for it, click Next.

    • If you only want the objects transferred so that you can do the installation at a later time, or you want to reuse the objects for multiple installations, select Transfer objects only.

      Note: If you’re updating several products and you choose to transfer the objects, be sure to select that option for all the products, including the final one. If you don’t select Transfer objects only, RBTCDRLIB will be cleared during the automatic processing. Also, if your product supports IASPs, you may want to transfer objects only, then use the RBTCDRLIB/HLPCDMENU option to update each product.

    • If you’ve chosen to transfer the objects, the default save file library is HSSAVF. You can use this or enter a different save file library name.

    • When you're finished making your selections, click Next.

  7. When the ASP Group window displays (only for products that support IASPs):

    • If your product is installed in *SYSBAS, select Use default value of *SYSBAS. Then, click Next.

    • If you wish to install the product in an IASP, or if you’re transferring the objects only and need the IFS objects copied to the IASP IFS for later installation into an IASP, remove the check mark and select or enter the name of the ASP Group to Update. Then, click Next.

  8. When the Confirm Information window displays, review the product and options you've selected. Click Back to go back and make changes. When you're ready to continue, click Start.

    • The Wizard displays the progress of the installation, update, conversion, or transfer. The process can take several minutes.

    • A product update usually completes automatically (if you didn't choose to transfer objects only). If it cannot complete automatically, instructions display to help you finish the update.

    • If you are installing a trial version of the product, follow the wizard's instructions to display the Maintain HelpSystems Products menu. Review the installation instructions referenced in the product ReadMe file. Read the section headed “Before You Begin” for any specific information you need to know before you install the product.

    • If you're converting a product, follow the conversion instructions for your product.

  9. When the Completion window displays, you have several choices:

    • Click the Finish button to exit the Product Maintenance Wizard.

    • Click the Restart Wizard button to select a new system.

    • Click the Back button and use the File Finder to select the .hs file for the next product you wish to process.

Note: If the Upload in Progress window says Ended in Error, it means that the product upload could not complete properly. To find the reason the upload failed, click OK, then click View Logs and review your job log.

After you're sure that the upload has completed properly, you can delete the .hs file from your PC.

 


Still have questions? We can help. Submit a case to Technical Support.

Last Modified On: April 16, 2019