Change Host System

It may become necessary to change the host system to a remote system and a remote system to a host system. To do this, have the Robot Monitor IBM i User Guide available and follow these steps:

Step 1. Ensure Product Is Installed on New Host System

If the product is not yet installed on the system that has been selected as the new host system, first distribute the product from the old host system to the new host system. See the MONDSTIP – Send Software to Remote Sites Using TCP section in the IBM i User Guide for details on distributing the product from an existing installation to a new system.

Step 2. On the Old Host System

  1. End the product for all systems.

  2. Use the MONPURGE command to reduce the amount of historical data to be transferred to the new host system.

  3. Save the Robot Monitor product library (the default is MSM).

  4. Type MONCFG on the command line. Press Enter to go to the System Data panel, then press F8.

  5. On the System Default Maintenance panel, type the name of the new host in the System Name field and press Enter.

  6. Execute the command ADDDIRE USRID(MSM <systemname>) USRD(Robot Monitor) USER(MSM), where you replace <systemname> with the system name.

  7. Type CHGUSRPRF <name of Robot Monitor user profile>then press F4. By default the user profile is named MSM. Change the user profile’s job description of MONBCK to QDFTJOBD and change the job description library to *LIBL.

  8. Use the command WRKCFGSTS *DEV and vary off the #INTRA device with the text “MON – Intra device for local monitoring."

  9. Use the WRKDEVD command and delete the #INTRA device with the text, “MON – Intra device for local monitoring.”

  10. Execute the command RMVJOBSCDE JOB(MON.SUMARY) to remove the job scheduler entry for the summarization job.

  11. If the old host system will continue to be used, as a remote system, see the section on System Start-up Program in the IBM i User Guide for the recommended modification of the system start-up program.

  12. If the old host system won't be used in the Robot Monitor network anymore, see the section To Remove a System from the Host Configuration in the IBM i User Guide. Also see "Removing Robot Monitor" (contact Robot Technical Support for the instructions).

Step 3. On the New Host System

  1. Clear the Robot Monitor product library and restore the product library saved in step 2.3 above.

  2. Type CHGUSRPRF <name of Robot Monitor user profile> then press F4. Change the job description QDFTJOBD to MONBCK and change job description library from *LIBL to the name of the Robot Monitor product library.

  3. On the new host, use the CRTDEVINTR command to create a device with Name = #INTRA, Remote Location = #MONITOR, and text = “MON – Intra device for local monitoring.”

  4. Use the ADDCMNE command to add a device entry for the new #INTRA device to the Robot Monitor subsystem.

  5. On the new host, type MONCFG on the command line. Press Enter to go to the System Data panel, then press F8.

  6. On the System Defaults Maintenance panel, enter the name of the new host (local system) in the System Name field. This must be the same name as in the system definition for this system in Robot Monitor. When you're finished, press Enter twice.

  7. Change the value of data area MONSYSLC in the Robot Monitor product library to the name of the local system.

  8. Enter the command RMVDIRE USRID(MSM <systemname>), where <systemname> is the system name.

  9. See System Start-up Program in the IBM i User Guide for the recommended modification of the system startup program.

Step 4. On PCs where the Robot Monitor GUI is installed

  1. On each PC where the Robot Monitor GUI software is used, change the existing configuration. When you start Robot Monitor, the Getting Started dialog displays. Click Define Host System. Then amend the Host System and IP Address fields.

    Note: If Robot Monitor is configured to connect to the host automatically, you will not be able to enter the Getting Started dialog. In that case, if you want to show the logon screen again, hold down Shift and start the application. Release Shift when the logon screen appears.

  2. Use the Verify button to check the validity of the data entered.

  3. Click OK to save the changes.


Still have questions? We can help. Submit a case to Technical Support.

Last Modified On: October 11, 2018