This topic describes how to move Robot Save versions 9, 10, 11, or 12 to another system on which it is not currently installed.

Before You Begin

  • Make sure you have the most recent backup volumes or save files containing RBTSYSLIB, RBSPGMLIB, RBSDTALIB, RBSKEYLIB, and RBTROLLIB available.

  • Ensure that any tape devices used are the same on the new system.

  • If you use before and after programs on your backup sets, those must exist on the new system.

Note: If you want to move only Robot Save setup information to another system, see "Moving Robot Save Setup Only to Another System."

IBM Media and Storage Extensions (MSE)

MSE must be installed on your system before you install Robot Save. If MSE is not installed, Robot Save cannot register the exit points and your saves will not complete.

Do the following to verify that MSE is installed on your system:

  1. Enter GO LICPGM on a command line.

  2. On the Work with Licensed Program panel, select option 10, Display installed licensed programs.

  3. When the Display Installed Licensed Programs panel displays, check for Media and Storage Extensions.

    Note: If MSE is not installed on your system, contact IBM for information on purchasing and installing it.

Steps to Move Robot Save

Use the following instructions to move the Robot Save product libraries from one system to another system that currently does not have Robot Save installed.

On the source system

  1. If the system you're moving is a data center participant (DCP) in a Robot Save data center, exclude the system from the data center before proceeding

    If the system you're moving is the data center management system (DCMS), you must first transfer the data center management to another system before proceeding. For information on working with data centers, see the Robot SAVE User Guide.

  2. Shut down the Robot Save monitor jobs that are running in the RBTSLEEPER subsystem (see the Robot Save User Guide for complete information on stopping and restarting the monitor jobs).

  3. Save the following Robot Save and Robot Corral libraries to tape or save file: RBSDTALIB, RBSPGMLIB, RBSKEYLIB, and RBTROLLIB.

  4. If no other Robot products are installed on the target system, also save the Robot system library, RBTSYSLIB.

On the target system

  1. Make sure the backup volume containing the Robot Save libraries is loaded on the system.

  2. Make sure that the user profiles RBTADMIN and RBTUSER are valid user profiles on the target system or partition. If they aren’t, use the following commands to create the user profiles:

    RSTOBJ OBJ(RSL062) SAVLIB(RBTSYSLIB) DEV(*SAVF) SAVF(savflib/RBTSYSLIB) RSTLIB(QGPL)

    CALL PGM(QGPL/RSL062)

    DLTOBJ OBJ(QGPL/RSL062) TYPE(*PGM)

  3. Enter the following command to restore RBTSYSLIB from your tape:

    RSTLIB LIB(RBTSYSLIB) DEV(device_name) MBROPT(*ALL) ALWOBJDIF(*ALL)

  4. Enter the following command to set up the Robot Save environment:

    WRKSYSVAL QSYSLIBL

    Then, do the following:

    1. Enter option 2, Change, next to QSYSLIBL to update the system library list.

    2. Add RBTSYSLIB at the same sequence number position as it was on the source system.

    3. Sign off the system, then sign on for this change to take effect for your session.

  5. Enter the following commands to restore the Robot Save libraries. Note: You must restore the Robot Save data library, RBSDTALIB, before restoring the program library, RBSPGMLIB, or the encryption key library, RBSKEYLIB.

    RSTLIB RBSDTALIB

    RSTLIB RBSPGMLIB

    RSTLIB RBSKEYLIB

    Note: You only need to restore RBSKEYLIB if you are moving Robot Save 11 or higher. If using encryption, RBSKEYLIB must be restored using the RBSRSTLIB command, with the encryption key entered that was used to save this library.

  6. Restore the Robot Corral library:

    RSTLIB RBTROLLIB

  7. Enter the following command to change the system name in the Robot Save files that have been moved to the new system.

    RSLCHGSYSN

Note: We do not recommend moving Robot Save data files from one system to a system that already has Robot Save installed on it. If you cannot remove Robot Save from the target system, you must create the Robot Save data manually from the original system on the target system. This can include creating backup classes and sets, locations, volume information, and so on.

 


Still have questions? We can help. Submit a case to Technical Support.

Last Modified On: July 19, 2019