Problem Statement:

Does the SAVSRVRINF / RSTSRVRINF procedure move all user profile settings, or can I specify what information is to be saved? For instance, when moving information to a second AS/400, is it possible to designate what security information/settings are transferred?

Solution:

With the SAVSRVRINF command you can specify to save the following:

  1. *ALL to save all information described in the following bullets. You will be prompted to enter the server library name where IBM Collaboration and Deployment Services Repository is installed on the IBM i and the IBM Collaboration and Deployment Services administrative user ID and password.
  2. *ADMIN to save only Warehouse Manager Server administration information (such as security settings and aliases).
  3. *PES to save only IBM Collaboration and Deployment Services information (such as queries, reports, scheduled jobs, and other files saved to the repository). You will be prompted to enter the server library name where IBM Collaboration and Deployment Services Repository is installed on the IBM i and the IBM Collaboration and Deployment Services administrative user ID and password

With the RSTSRVRINF command you can specify to restore the following:

  1. Restore server administration information.
  2. Restore Warehouse Builder information
  3. Restore IBM Collaboration and Deployment Services (CADS) information.
  4. Restore Data View information.

For more information regarding save and restore commands, refer to the ShowCase 9 Administrator's Guide under Server Maintenance. For more information regarding ShowCase server security settings, refer to ShowCase online help within the Warehouse Manager Client.

 The video below explains the SAVSRVRINF and RSTSRVRINF commands and parameters:


Still have questions? We can help. Submit a case to Technical Support.

Last Modified On: March 21, 2019